I’m not sure how old this box is, but, I’ve had it as long as I can remember. 

My grandmother made it for me one Christmas. 

It’s just a plain white box, and she probably got it from a department store.

To dress it up she got out her scissors and some Christmas cards that she had received and saved.
She must have wandered through them one afternoon to choose ones just for me. 

And, then she so carefully cut them out, leaving all the little details in tact. 

Then she used her rubber cement to affix them to the top the box. She always had rubber cement, never white glue.

When they were all in place, she gave it a light coat of sealer. 

She wrapped her gift in tissue paper and placed it inside this box and then tied the whole thing with some red thread that she had crocheted into a long chain to use as ribbon…

for me. 

I don’t have a clue what was inside of it back when it was first given to me.

I have no idea what she meant to be the gift. 

But, I still have the box that she created and I hold it so very dearly.


They say that children are always just happy with the box.

I guess maybe they’re right. 

And, I guess maybe there’s still a child in each of us…

****

Ellie894 December 18, 2023

2 thoughts on “the real gift…

    1. Thank you dearly, Kritika. I cannot believe how February came and went, and now it’s April. my most humble apologies for taking so long in replying to your kind thoughts. The child was me marvels at the soft sunshine and the gentle breeze. Hoping all is well with you. 🤗💕

      Like

Leave a comment